1	MUNICIPAL BUDGET COMMITTEE
2	Wednesday, April 24, 2019
3	Professional Development Room
4	Kennett Middle School, Conway, NH
5	
6	Chairman Jim LeFebvre called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm. The following Budget Committee
7	members were present: Vice Chair, Dave Jensen, Mike Fougere, Mike Tetreault, John Colbath,
8	Erik Dziedzic, Greydon Turner, John Edgerton, Terry McCarthy, Joe Mosca, Sarah Frechette, Ted
9	Sares, Ellin Leonard, and Frank Jost. Also, present Lisa Towle, recording secretary
10	
11	Excused: Mike Laracy and Diane Ryan
12	Absent: Steven Steiner
12	Mr. Massa lad these present in the Diados of Allesiance
13	Mr. Mosca led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.
14	SWEARING IN OF NEWLY ELECTED BUDGET COMMITTEE MEMBERS:
15	Mr. Colbath as the selectmen's representative swore in re-elected members Ellin Leonard and
16	Sarah Frechette. Mike Fougere and Frank Jost took their oath earlier at the town hall.
17	ELECTION OF 2019-2020 BC CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN:
18	Mr. Edgerton moved, seconded by Mr. Jensen to nominate Jim LeFebvre as Chairperson.
19	Motion Carries. (10-3-1 [Mr. LeFebvre])
20	
21	Mr. Mosca moved, seconded by Mr. LeFebvre to nominate Mike Fougere as Chairperson.
22 23	Motion Fails. (3-9-1 [Mr. Fougere])
24	Chairman LeFebvre moved, seconded by Ms. McCarthy to nominate Dave Jensen as
25	Vice-Chairperson. Motion Carries. (13-0-1 [Mr. Jensen])
26	
27	ADOPTION OF 2019-2020 CONWAY MUNICIPAL BUDGET COMMITTEE
28	MEETING SCHEDULE:
29 30	• After tonight the meetings will be quarterly until December.
30 31	 Tentatively, the DRA presentation is scheduled for September 11, 2019 @ 3:00 pm.
32	 A snow date as been built into this year's schedule.
33	• A show date as been built into this year's senedule.
34	Questions/Comments:
35	Mr. Colbath noted the non-profit will be chaired by the Budget Committee this year.
36 37	Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Mosca to adopt the proposed 2019-2020 meeting
38	schedule. Motion Carries. (14-0-0)
39	
40	OLD BUSINESS: None

41 <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>:

46

- 42 \succ Review of Outstanding Minutes:
- 43 Mr. Sares moved, seconded by Mr. Tetreault to approve the March 27, 2019 minutes.
 44 Motion Carries. (9-0-5 [Mr. Jost, Mr. Mosca, Mr. Tetreault, Ms. McCarthy, and Ms.
 45 Freschette])
- 47 > Chair LeFebvre noted some areas of interest for this year:
- The April 22, 2019 Conway School Board meeting regarding the suggestion to have an Ad
 Hoc Committee to investigate closing a school. This committee would evaluate the cost
 savings of closing a school and the benefits to the town, if any.
- It is suggested the board anticipate the Pre-K proposal again this year.
- A new 3-year contract will be negotiated this year for the teachers.
- Mr. Mosca commented on the suggested Ad Hoc Committee at the School Board level. The committee would look at the study, update the numbers, and come back it back to the voters.
 If the voters elect to close a school, the School Board will be the deciding body to designate which school will close. Chair LeFebvre reminded members the voters approved upgrades to all 3 elementary schools.
- 60 > Chair LeFebvre recommended a sub-committee be reinstituted to work on budgetary
 61 questions for the town and school.
- A discussion ensued concerning the individualized questions, remaining unbiased, getting
 responsibility of getting the "biggest bang for the buck", and making the voters more aware
 and involved.
- Mr. Mosca moved, seconded by Mr. Turner to form a subcommittee to coordinate all
 questions to be presented to the town and school. Motion Fails. (1 [Chair LeFebvre] –
 11 2 [Ms Leonard and Ms. Frechette])
- All questions will be sent to and by the Chair.
- 70 > Mr. Colbath noted a concern for the East Conway Fire Precinct not having representation on
 71 the Budget Committee.
- Discussion ensued regarding the size of the committee and how the number of 17 members
 was arrived at.
- 75 Mr. Mosca commented on the School Board Rep., expressing his gratitude for the dedication
 76 and hard work of the committee over the last 9 years. (should he not be appointed to the
 77 committee again).
- 78

69

- 79 \succ The next meeting is June 26, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
- 80 <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: None
- 81 ADJOURN:
- 82 Mr. Turner moved, seconded by Mr. Edgerton to adjourn the meeting at 7:13 p.m.

- 83
- 84 Respectfully Submitted,
- 85
- 86
- 87
- 88 Lisa E. Towle,
- 89 Recording Secretary