Minutes of Meeting CONWAY MUNICIPAL BUDGET COMMITTEE Marshall Gymnasium Conway Recreation Center May 27, 2020

The Municipal Budget Committee Meeting convened at 6:30 pm in the Marshall Gymnasium of the Conway Recreation Center with the following present: Chairman James LeFebvre, Vice Chair Dave Jensen, Mike Laracy, Diane Ryan, Frank Jost, Peter Donohoe, Ellin Leonard, Mike Tetreault, John Edgerton, Erik Corbett, John Colbath and Recording Secretary, Krista Day. Ms. Frechette and Mr. Dziedzic were excused from the meeting. Mr. Fougere was unexcused.

2019-2020 COMMITTEE BUSINESS

a. Approval of Outstanding Minutes

Mr. LeFebvre reminded Mr. Donohoe and Mr. Corbett that they would be unable to vote on this item as they were not members of the Committee during that time.

Mr. Edgerton moved, seconded by Mr. Tetreault, to adopt the minutes from February 12, 2020 as written. The motion carried (8-0-1) with Mr. Laracy abstaining as he was not present for the February 12, 2020 meeting.

a. Acceptance of Greydon Turner's Resignation (effective March 6, 2020)

Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Jensen, to accept Mr. Turner's resignation (effective March 6, 2020) with regret. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. LeFebvre stated that former member of the Budget Committee, Bob Drinkhall, had expressed interest in being appointed to finish out Mr. Turner's term.

Mr. Edgerton moved, seconded by Mr. Jensen, to appoint Bob Drinkhall to the Budget Committee to finish Mr. Turner's term on the Budget Committee expiring in 2021. The motion carried unanimously.

COMMITTEE REORGANIZATION

a. Election of Chairman

Ms. Leonard moved, seconded by Mr. Donohoe, to nominate James LeFebvre as Chair to the Budget Committee. The motion carried (10-0-1) with Mr. LeFebvre abstaining.

b. Election of Vice Chairman

Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Tetreault, to nominate Dave Jensen as Vice Chair to the Budget Committee. The motion carried (10-0-1) with Mr. Jensen abstaining.

c. Set Summer Meeting dates/time/locations

Mr. LeFebvre stated that he wanted to set the dates, times and locations for the next few meetings. He noted that for the time being, all meeting would be held in the Marshall Gymnasium at the Conway Recreation Center as it allowed for proper social distancing.

The three dates he proposed to meet were as follows:

- (1) June 17, 2020
- (2) August 19, 2020
- (3) September 23, 2020

Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Jensen, to accept the meeting dates as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

d. Town Default Budget Sub Committee Discussion

Chairman LeFebvre explained that the Budget Committee is authorize to put together the Operating Budget for the School and the Town, and in addition, they have the opportunity to come up with the default budget for the Town.

This past year, the default budget subcommittee consisted of Mr. LeFebvre, Mr. Jensen, Mr. Jost, and Ms. Ryan. All members agreed to continue serving on that subcommittee for the next budget year.

Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Edgerton, to have those mentioned above continue to serve on the Town default budget subcommittee for the 2020-2021 budget season. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Colbath thanked them for their work.

Mr. LeFebvre explained that he would like to establish a few other subcommittees.

He explained that the first subcommittee would look at the existing Bylaws which were drafting in 2015 and modified in 2017. He noted that he would like to sit on that subcommittee as an exofficio member.

Mr. Colbath asked if perhaps the NHMA had any guidance available to help with this. Mr. LeFebvre said that they most likely do.

Mr. Colbath volunteered to Chair this subcommittee with the idea that they keep it short and sweet.

Mr. Laracy and Ms. Ryan also volunteered to sit on this subcommittee.

The next subcommittees that Mr. LeFebvre wished to create was one tasked with coming up with questions for the Town and one tasked with coming up with questions for the school.

He explained that he would like to take a closer look at what we are doing at the Town and School level.

The goal would be to have questions to present back to the Budget Committee as a whole.

Peter Donohoe volunteered to Chair the subcommittee for Questions for the Town. Other members that volunteered for this committee included Mr. Corbett and Mr. Jost.

Mr. LeFebvre volunteered to Chair the subcommittee for Questions for the School. Ms. Leonard volunteered for this committee as well. Mr. Drinkhall provisionally volunteered also.

Mr. LeFebvre stated that this year in the bylaws, he wanted to emphasize that if you miss a certain number of meetings, that you be removed from the Budget Committee. He explained that there are a few members that have a tendency to miss many meetings and that hinders their ability from getting things done.

OTHER NEW BUSINESS

Mr. Colbath inquired about House Bill 1260 that was designed to restrict those who are not voted onto the Budget Committee by the voters from voting.

Chairman LeFebvre explained that it had been found inexpedient to legislate. However, there were rumors that it may come back on the floor. He promised to keep the members of the committee updated.

Mr. Colbath reported that the Town would receive up to \$240,897 of COVID-19 related funds. He explained that these funds had to be directly spent on COVID-19 related expenses. At this time, they had applied for the reimbursement of approximately \$17,000 which included hand sanitizer, soap, signage, costs to help run the last election, etc. He added that they are proposing an additional \$42,000 worth of COVID-19 related expenses for floor coverings and a PA system for the Marshall Gymnasium as it is the only space large enough to hold meetings and properly socially distance. However, they are trying to make sure that this will be approved before making that purchase.

Mr. LeFebvre stated that he would be finding out from the School Board who the new Representative for the Budget Committee would be.

Mr. Donohoe asked what the time parameters were in terms of meetings for the subcommittees. Chairman LeFebvre stated that he would like to have presentations for the Budget Committee as a whole at the August meeting.

Mr. Colbath moved, seconded by Mr. Corbett, to send a letter to the legislature in opposition of House Bill 1260 and authorize Chairman LeFebvre to sign it out of session. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Laracy inquired as to what the motivation was behind the bill. It was determined that some believed that Select Boards, School Boards, and Precincts, get to vote multiple times on things as their representatives must vote the position of the Board.

Mr. Colbath stated that he would not be interested in spending his time at these meetings if he was not able to vote.

Mr. LeFebvre noted that they are still trying to get a representative to fill Doug Swett's seat.

ADJOURN

At 7:00 pm. Mr. Edgerton moved, seconded by Mr. Tetreault, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Krista Day

Executive Secretary